The Unexpected

The-Unexpected

Caffeine, nicotine and a heavy mind
Took me up towards the skylines.
97 steps climbed in full pleasure.
The breeze was still, but enjoyed in leisure.
The stars seemed to mock the nutcase.
But my rock steady legs left the base.

4th floor passed by and it felt great.
The cool wind was loving me,
And I reciprocated the emotions duly.
3rd floor and a loss of weight.
Thank you God for the beautiful days,
From the quizzing to the musical phase.

2nd floor and the ground was near.
Forgive me mom, Forgive me dad.
For your son was a broken lad.
1st floor and there was no fear.
With an unperturbed guise,
I was about to close my eyes.

But, the ground suddenly ripped apart.
And a galore of creepy snakes took its place,
With shining fangs, ready to leave no trace.
Horror had kissed me like a poisoned dart.
My rock steady legs were moving in a trance.
From the ugly grip of terror, I woke up, still in trance.

Wiping off the sweat, I asked Him
“Of so many minions, Why snakes?”
Came the fitting reply,
“Because it was unexpected.
And it’s the unexpected,
That acts as a drive,
Which keeps one alive.”

20 thoughts on “The Unexpected

    1. Goodness! Thank you so much for that wonderful comment. I’m thrilled to the core. I’m glad it struck a chord. It took me more than an hour to complete it. And now I’m sure it was worth the while.
      Thank you so much sir! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Aawww that is so nice Vipul 😊😊 now I have a big smile too 😀 I would love to go through your blog more and comment. You can read mine as well 😉 I’ll read yours soon and I hope you’re having a great weekend so far 😊😊

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

