That Cute Kid!

2c062c215d4b737a4d766e15191453a9

Yesterday, while I was lying around,
An old photograph of a cute kid I found.
He was smiling with arms open wide.
A new found happiness he couldn’t hide.
He had a glowing face & sparkling eyes.
The gesture was true without any disguise.

I brought the picture closer.
The kid did look familiar.
He had the same eyes and the same smile.
But I hadn’t seen that look in a while.
I wondered why he isn’t around.
Lost within me, he just couldn’t be found.

That kid had made me nostalgic.
Leaving me with thoughts so ironic.
Like pain for him is strictly physical.
And little happiness is magical.
Ego is a word he doesn’t even know.
Deep down, I don’t want him to grow.

Well! I kept the picture back & sighed.
There was a smile on my face I couldn’t hide.
That kid, I knew is deep within me.
He is someone I still want to be.
Then, a friend came in and asked – “Who is he?”
Proudly, I replied – “It is someone I used to be.”

8 thoughts on “That Cute Kid!

  1. Cute one, I just love your poetry. Reminds me of a picture that my parents clicked. At that time we did not have a camera, my mom took me to a shop to get it clicked, I look so cute in that picture that it is difficult to believe that that cute little girl was once me…

    Like

    1. Thanks a lot for saying so! ๐Ÿ™‚
      The poem itself is based on a picture of mine.
      It’s amazing to see how different we seem after we have grown up. But still, that kid is always inside us, I suppose.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

